ICC World T20 2016 Tournament

India is all set to host the sixth edition of ICC World T20 2016, a tournament where the world’s best cricketing teams compete for the coveted trophy. Scheduled from 08th March to 03rd April, the tournament will feature sixteen teams including ten full members and six associated members of ICC (International Cricket Council). Let’s check out a few other details about the T20 World Cup 2016.


Seven Indian cities, namely Delhi, Mumbai, Kolkata, Bengaluru, Nagpur, Mohali, and Dharamsala will host 35 matches in the course of 27 days. Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai and Feroz Shah Kotla Ground in Delhi will host the semi-finals, whereas Kolkata’s Eden Gardens is the spot for the final battle.


There are a total of 16 teams in the tournament. Initially, Group Stage matches will be held. These will be followed by Super 10 matches. As the name suggests, the Super 10 stage will have 10 teams. Presently, eight teams have already been selected for the Super 10 stage. The two remaining teams for the Super 10 will be shortlisted during the Group Stage matches. Here are the Group Stage teams that will vie for the two remaining slots in the Super 10 stage. The teams in the Group Stage have been divided into two groups, namely Group A and Group B.

Group A Group B
Bangladesh Scotland
Netherlands Zimbabwe
Ireland Afghanistan
Oman Hong Kong

Now, something about the Super 10 stage!

The Super 10 stage also has two groups, namely Group 1 and Group 2, and each group will have five members. The list of groups is as follows:

Group 1 Group 2
Sri Lanka India
South Africa New Zealand
West Indies Pakistan
England Australia

*TBA stands for ‘To be Announced’. As mentioned before, these two teams will be shortlisted in Group Stage matches that would be held right before the Super 10 league matches. The teams participating in the Group Stage matches are divided into two groups, namely Group A and Group B.

The Group Stage matches will be played between 09th and 13th March and the first Super 10 match will be played between India and New Zealand on 15th March at Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium, Nagpur.

Main Contenders


India, the winner of the inaugural T20 World Cup in 2007, will definitely have the advantage of playing at home. Moreover, India is among the top three teams in the rankings. This time around, India will come out in the middle to clinch the title for the second time.

Sri Lanka

Defending champions, Sri Lanka is one of the best teams in the world and it is always counted as one of the top teams in every format of the game.

West Indies

Winner of the 2012 T20 World Cup, West Indies features a good mix of best batsmen as well as top rated all-rounders in the world of cricket.


The winner of five ICC Cricket World Cups, Australia has never come out as a winner of the T20 World Cup. Of course, they will be looking forward to end the jinx.

Schedule of the Tournament

Group Stage

Date Match Venue Time
8th March 2016, Tuesday Zimbabwe vs Hong Kong Nagpur PM
8th March 2016, Tuesday Scotland v Afghanistan Nagpur EVE.
9th March 2016, Wednesday Bangladesh v Netherlands Dharamsala PM
9th March 2016, Wednesday Ireland v Oman Dharamsala EVE.
10th March 2016, Thursday Scotland v Zimbabwe Nagpur PM
10th March 2016, Thursday Hong Kong v Afghanistan Nagpur EVE.
11th March 2016, Friday Netherlands v Oman Dharamsala PM
11th March 2016, Friday Bangladesh v Ireland Dharamsala EVE.
12th March 2016, Saturday Zimbabwe v Afghanistan Nagpur PM
12th March 2016, Saturday Scotland v Hong Kong Nagpur EVE.
13th March 2016, Sunday Netherlands v Ireland Dharamsala PM
13th March 2016, Sunday Bangladesh v Oman Dharamsala EVE.


Super 10

Date Match Venue Time
15th March 2016, Tuesday New Zealand v India Nagpur EVE.
16th March 2016, Wednesday West Indies v England Mumbai PM
16th March 2016, Wednesday Pakistan v Q1A Kolkata EVE.
17th March 2016, Thursday Sri Lanka v Q1B Kolkata EVE.
18th March 2016, Friday Australia v New Zealand Dharamsala PM
18th March 2016, Friday South Africa v England Mumbai EVE.
19th March 2016, Saturday India v Pakistan Dharamsala EVE.
20th March 2016, Sunday South Africa v Q1B Mumbai PM
20th March 2016, Sunday Sri Lanka v West Indies Bengaluru EVE.
21st March 2016, Monday Australia v Q1A Bengaluru EVE.
22nd March 2016, Tuesday New Zealand v Pakistan Mohali EVE.
23rd March 2016, Wednesday England v Q1B New Delhi PM
23rd March 2016, Wednesday India v Q1A Bengaluru EVE.
25th March 2016, Friday Pakistan v Australia Mohali PM
25th March 2016, Friday South Africa v West Indies Nagpur EVE.
26th March 2016, Saturday Q1A v New Zealand Kolkata PM
26th March 2016, Saturday England v Sri Lanka New Delhi EVE.
27th March 2016, Sunday India v Australia Mohali EVE.
27th March 2016, Sunday Q1B v West Indies Nagpur PM
28th March 2016, Monday South Africa v Sri Lanka New Delhi EVE.
29th March 2016, Tuesday Rest / Travel Day
30th March 2016, Wednesday Semi-final (Super 10 Group 1 2nd v Super 10 Group 2 1st) New Delhi EVE.
31st March 2016, Thursday Semi-final (Super 10 Group 1 2nd v Super 10 Group 2 1st) Mumbai EVE.
3rd April 2016, Sunday Final Kolkata EVE.

This site uses cookies to analyze traffic and for ads measurement purposes.
learn more about how we use cookies.