Indian tourism authorities are in the final stages of consultations to allow tourist visa-on-arrival services to citizens of 10 more countries. The move is expected to enhance the number of foreign tourists taking flights to India.

Indian government is in the final stages of meetings and consultations to offer the tourist Visa-on-Arrival policy (TVoA) for citizens of another 10 countries in addition to the present 11, revealed online sources.

Industry experts and tourism officials believe that the visa on arrival service for more nations across the globe would certainly offer a boost to the number for foreign holidaymakers on flights to India.

Indian Tourism Minister was quoted as saying, “We are in the final stages of consultation in the government in the matter and the matter will be taken up with the Prime Minister’s Office (PMO). The proposal is to allow visa on arrival to people of another 10 nations and it has the potential to boost tourism manifold.”

Sources further revealed that the 10 nations that could be provided TVoA facilities include Germany, France and Russia and of the Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS).

Indian minister said, “The CIS countries can be one of the largest inbound tourist markets for India, as in winter India is an attractive and close destination for them.”

Presently, the nation offers the TVoA privilege to people of 11 nations taking flights to India for recreation, sightseeing or meeting friends in the country. Nationals of European countries of Finland and Luxembourg on flights to the country can avail TVoA. Among other non-Asian countries, citizens from New Zealand catching flights to the India can all get this facility.

Reports floating in Indian media reveal that this move will help the government to attain its objective of attracting 12 million international tourists to book flights to the country by 2016.

This site uses cookies to analyze traffic and for ads measurement purposes.
learn more about how we use cookies.